40 days of jerseys #39: St. Louis Blues – Wayne Gretzky

gretzkybluesfrontgretzkybluesbackJersey #39 of 40: St. Louis Blues (Wayne Gretzky, #99)

Style: Replica
Size: XXL
Manufacturer: Starter
Obtained: Store Purchase, 1997

There’s not a hockey fan alive who doesn’t know who Wayne Gretzky is. Even non-hockey people know the name. I have always been a fan of him…even when he was a New York Ranger

He didn’t even play a full season on his way from the West Coast to the East Coast, stopping in St. Louis for 31 games in 1996, 13 of them in the playoffs. His stay didn’t last long, but he intended to stay a lot longer than what happened.

caddenback
Knoxville Cherokees 1998 design

This style jersey design from St. Louis is actually one of my favorite styles. Maybe it’s because the Knoxville Cherokees adopted a similar jersey design in the last year they were in Knoxville before moving to South Carolina (much to my chagrin).

I never got to see him play in person. The closest I got to seeing him in person was in Nashville during the 2003 Entry Draft when he was affiliated with the Phoenix Coyotes (now Arizona).

I have seen his brothers Keith and Brent play, in the IHL and UHL, but never their more famous brother.

I got this jersey from a sporting goods store in the mall sometime after he left for New York. I think it was on clearance. It’s a replica but it’s pretty heavy. I haven’t had much of an affinity for the white jerseys overall, but I do own a few.

I’ve been offered a lot of money for this one, but I think I’ll keep it for now.

This jersey is not for sale or trade.

Monday: The Grand Finale! Can’t believe I followed through with this!!!

Leave a Reply

